Skip to main content

Introduction to Life Sciences

Check information on the French version of the description

Course code : BIO-IN-G02-S1

Course name : Introduction to Life Sciences

Coordinator : Morgane Thomas-Chollier

ECTS : 3

Language : French

Keywords : cell organization, transcription, translation, cell cycle, regulation, signalization, morphogenesis, phenotypic variation, speciation, phylogenetic reconstruction, evolution

Prerequisites for the course : None

Course objectives and description :

This introductive course is designed to allow non-biologists to access basic knowledge necessary for any understanding of the modes of organization, functioning and evolution of living organisms. It is a prerequisite for following most of the courses designed for non-biologists and constitutes the first step in dual tracks with biology. Its major objectives are as follows:

• to allow a deep understanding of what makes the originality, unity and diversity of living organisms
• to provide essential information on the central machinery in charge of heredity, expression of genetic information and adaptation phenomena and on its control mechanisms and their pathological deregulation
• to provide an introduction to key mechanisms in species origin and evolution
• to illustrate through various examples the methodologies that allow access to this knowledge and their limits

Themes:

Life unity: life chemistry, proteins and nucleic acids, cell organization, metabolism, membranes, signalling and cell communication, cell cycle, heredity, from DNA to proteins, regulation of gene expression, molecular medicine, development and morphogenesis.

Life diversity: individuals, populations, communities, ecosystems: phenotypic variation and emerging properties of populations. Interaction networks between populations: structure, robustness, evolution. Community diversity and ecosystem functioning. Evolution: genetic markers, species notion and principles of phylogenetic reconstruction. History of characters and evolutionary innovation. Evolution of cooperation and selection levels. Speciation process.

Methodologies for studying and manipulating genes and genomes: Basic methodologies (in vitro recombination, cartography, sequencing...). Molecular cloning (principles, strategies for gene isolation, manipulation of single genes). Genetically modified organisms (transgenesis, gene knock-out, gene mutation and replacement, ethic considerations).

Assessment / evaluation : Written exam

Course material (hand-outs, online presentation available, …) : -

Suggested readings in relationship with the module content (textbook chapters, reviews, articles) : Life, The Science of Biology (Savada)

Accèder directement au contenu

Introduction aux sciences du vivant

Début des cours : vendredi 22 septembre 2017, 14h30 – 16h30 Lieu : département de Biologie, Salle Favard

PDF - 38.7 ko
2017 ISV planning

Code du cours : BIO-IN-G02-S1

Intitulé : Introduction aux sciences du vivant

Responsable : Patrick Charnay, Morgane Thomas-Chollier, Régis Ferrière

ECTS : 3

Mots clés : organisation cellulaire, transcription, traduction, cycle cellulaire, régulation, morphogenèse, développement

Prérequis pour le cours : Aucun, bac Scientifique conseillé

Le cours est dispensé en Français. The class is given in French.

Objectif et description du cours :

Ce cours d’introduction vise à permettre à des non-biologistes de s’approprier les connaissances fondamentales nécessaires à toute compréhension des modes d’organisation, de fonctionnement et d’évolution du vivant. Il constitue un pré-requis nécessaire pour suivre la plupart des autres cours destinés aux non-biologistes et constitue la première étape de filières mixtes avec la biologie. Les généraux objectifs sont les suivants :

• permettre une compréhension en profondeur de ce qui fait l’originalité, l’unité et la diversité du vivant
• donner les informations essentielles sur la machinerie centrale, responsable des phénomènes d’hérédité, d’expression de l’information génétique et d’adaptation, et sur ses mécanismes de contrôle et leurs dérèglements éventuels
• fournir une introduction aux mécanismes-cléfs impliqués dans l’origine des espèces et de leur évolution
• illustrer par quelques exemples les méthodologies qui permettent de constituer ce savoir, et leurs limites

Thèmes abordés :
Unité du vivant : chimie du vivant, protéines et acides nucléiques, organisation cellulaire, métabolisme, membranes, signalisation et communication cellulaires, cycle cellulaire, hérédité, de l’ADN aux protéines, régulation de l’expression génique et médecine moléculaire, développement et morphogenèse.

Diversité du vivant : Individus, populations, communautés, écosystèmes : variation phénotypique et propriétés émergentes des populations. Réseaux d’interactions entre populations : structure, robustesse, évolution. Diversité des communautés et fonctionnement des écosystèmes. Evolution : marqueurs génétiques, notion d’espèce et principes de la reconstruction phylogénétique. Histoire des caractères et innovation évolutive. Evolution de la coopération et niveaux de sélection. Processus de spéciation.

Méthodes pour l’étude et la manipulation des gènes et des génomes  : Méthodes de base (recombinaison in vitro, cartographie, séquençage..). Clonage moléculaire (principes, stratégies d’isolement de gènes, manipulation de gènes isolés). Organismes génétiquement modifiés (transgenèse, invalidation, mutation et remplacement de gènes, considérations éthiques)

Évaluation : Examen écrit incluant questions de cours et exercices

Support de cours : Life, The Science of Biology (Savada)

Lectures suggérées : -