Accèder directement au contenu

Multidisciplinary approach to plant and animal morphogenesis

From the 18th until the 24th of March 2018

2018 planning:

PDF - 3 Mo

Patrick Lemaire, CRBM, Montpellier
Christophe Godin, INRIA
Patrick Charnay, Biology Department, ENS


Hours: 30 h (15 h course + 15 h practical simulation project)
Credits: 3 ECTS
Semester: 2nd semester
Number of students: 12 to 16


This course, organized as a workshop, takes place in early spring in the Montpellier area. It aims to familiarize students with concepts and current issues in interdisciplinary research in the field of developmental morphogenesis in plants and animals. In addition to morning lectures from a broad range of speakers, students will be introduced to mathematical simulations in the afternoon. The course will also allow M2 students to meet again halway through their M2 laboratory research project and to present these projects to each other.


This module explores the molecular, cellular and evolutionary mechanisms that determine embryonic shape and its dynamics (morphogenesis) in plants and animals. It will illustrate in particular how experimental and computational approaches complement each other.
Examples of topics covered: physical, embryological and genetic approaches to morphogenesis, transcriptional control of morphogenesis, transcriptional bases of the formation and evolution of gene expression patterns, evolutionary plasticity of developmental programs, cellular dynamics and tissue mechanics during animal and plant morphogenesis, generation and transmission of forces at subcellular and tissue levels..


The teaching unit is organized over one week, with classes in the morning and computational simulation projects in the afternoon. It takes place in the Montpellier backcountriside and students are housed on site.
Evaluation will be made on the basis of a group presentation of a simulation mini-project.

Organizers and Teaching Team:

Patrick Lemaire (CRBM, Montpellier)
Marie-Anne Félix (ENS)
Pierre-François Lenne (IBDML, Marseille)
Thomas Lecuit (IBDML, Marseille)
Nicolas Gompel (IBDML, Marseille)
Benjamin Prud’homme (IBDML, Marseille)
Teva Vernoux (ENS-Lyon)
Yogi Jaeger (CRG, Barcelona)
Arezki Boudaoud (ENS, Lyon)
Annamaria Kiss (ENS, Lyon)
Nathalie Dostatni (UPMC, Paris)